Finishing Strong

Sheridan web design grad show 2014

It’s over already? I feel like we just got started! As I sit here writing this, I’m in shock that I don’t have an assignment due tomorrow. These days of free time seem unreal and almost dream-like after the intense workload we had at Sheridan College’s Web Design program. It was all worth it in the end, and I couldn’t have asked for a more enriching and life-changing experience.

Now, you might be thinking that I’m writing this for an assignment, and that I’m obligated to say good things about the program. But the program is over, and I honestly have nothing but great things to say about it.

I say this program is life changing because it certainly changed the way I see myself, my capabilities and my future. I never would have thought I would be capable of designing a site–let alone be able to code one with fancy Adobe Edge animations! The program has unlocked skill sets that I never knew I had. Most importantly, it ignited a newfound passion for web design that will shape my career path for the better.

Looking back, our first day of class in September seems like a stark contrast to our last day of class. In the beginning we were all so shy and quiet. Very few hands were raised to answer questions–let Sibylle be our witness! But gradually, we all warmed up to each other, shared a few laughs along with tears, and grew into a close family that overcame the same coding and design obstacles, yet stayed strong until the end. Fast forward to our last day of class (which was only a week ago). That day was filled with the sounds of laughter and jokes–albeit fuelled by lack of sleep and a lot of caffeine. It was a happy time that I will always cherish. (Uh oh, I feel the waterworks coming on…!)

<STRONG> GRAD SHOW

The grad show was a blast! The room was bursting with people excited to see our work. It was nice to see alumni of the program showing their support as well. The networking opportunities we have because of this program is truly phenomenal! The grad show site and event could not have been possible without the contributions and participation of the entire class and faculty. Not one person could’ve done it alone, and I’m still in awe that we managed to pull it off! Those late nights at the lab were definitely worth it. Now here’s a photo montage courtesy of Carson Chen, our class photographer!

alumni

gradshow

showingwork

party

I’m sad to say goodbye to the faculty and friends I’ve made along the way, but I’m happy to see them moving on to bigger things. I feel like we just scratched the surface of what we’re capable of. I guess our knowledge will be put to the test once we start working.

To anyone reading this who is a prospective web design student looking for a place to study web design, look no further! Choosing Sheridan’s post-graduate web design program will be one of the best decisions you will ever make. The faculty equips its students to be job-ready, and the industry comes to us first to select the best web designers for their team. If you are diligent and tenacious, you will have no problem finding a job once the program ends. In fact, you won’t ever want the program to end!

web design 2014

Thanks for the memories, class of 2014! There are no words to express how much I’m gonna miss you all.

Cheers to the road ahead!
Abby

2 thoughts on “Finishing Strong

Leave a Reply

